A man of integrity!

David was described by the Lord as a ‘man who walked in integrity of heart’.

 1 Kings 9:3-5 

 3And the LORD said unto him, I have heard thy prayer and thy supplication, that thou hast made before me: I have hallowed this house, which thou hast built, to put my name there for ever; and mine eyes and mine heart shall be there perpetually.

 4And if thou wilt walk before me, as David thy father walked, in integrity of heart, and in uprightness, to do according to all that I have commanded thee, and wilt keep my statutes and my judgments:

 5Then I will establish the throne of thy kingdom upon Israel for ever, as I promised to David thy father, saying, There shall not fail thee a man upon the throne of Israel.

  Lets look at Psalm 101 to examine some characteristics of David.

David was prepared to walk in integrity in the privacy of his home:

Psalm 101

 1I will sing of mercy and judgment: unto thee, O LORD, will I sing.

 2I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.

Did you notice verse 2?  David did not say, l will walk in Gods house with a perfect heart but in my own house i.e. ‘David’s house’. i.e. David was prepared to walk in integrity where only his family and children will see him.

 David must have been aware that his walk with the Lord was not just a show on Sunday morning, but a life style whether anyone sees him or not. That is true integrity.

David was careful with what he watched:

  3I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

 David is saying l will be very careful about what l watch with my eyes  Can we say the same thing?

  No room for compromise:

  4A froward heart shall depart from me: I will not know a wicked person.

 No room for compromise. No room for people with a perverse heart. They shall depart from me.

 I will not know a wicked person. David is saying, that wicked people will not be his friends or associates.

Clear disassociation from certain people:

  5Whoso privily slandereth his neighbour, him will I cut off: him that hath an high look and a proud heart will not I suffer.

 This is clear disassociation from some categories of people.

 David’s stand was very clear on pleasing the Lord at all times and so should ours.

 These are some of the reasons why David was described by the Lord as a man who walked in integrity of heart’.

Bisi Oladipupo

Posted on May 7, 2010, in Bible, Books, christian, Christian living, Christianity, Church, faith, Prayer, Salvation, Wisdom, Witnessing, Women. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thank you for pointing out “my house” and its implications.

  2. Great post. Psalm 78:72 has long been a favorite verse. You did a nice job of bringing out key points related to David’s integrity. (Integrity is what the world needs now more than ever!)
    Thank you.

  3. Bisi,

    I was thinking about David the other day…although in a different aspect. But yes, David was a man who was determined to live out his life BEFORE God be it in the public or private place. He was a man who keep went for a heart therapy on a regular basis. His Psalms clearly shows us how we ought to exercise constantly and discard the filth that constantly fight to enter and clatter our heart. Like, him I want to keep my heart at check at all time…so that I will not sin after my GOD! Thank you for showing some of the areas we need to look out for.

    What a blessed hope we have in Christ!

    Blessings your way.

    Gladwell

  1. Pingback: Resources for 1 Kings 9:3 - 5

Leave a Reply

